MLS All-Star game fan voting opens, 13 Nashville SC players eligible

Major League Soccer opened the fan voting process for the MLS All-Star game, set to be played against the Liga MX All-Stars on August 25. From the club’s release:

Thirteen Nashville Soccer Club players have been selected as part of this new voting process.

Players, fans and reporters will cast their votes for 11 players: one goalkeeper, one right back, two center backs, one left back, one defensive midfielder, two attacking midfielders, three forwards/wingers. The top players in each position from the combined vote will be named All-Stars and will face the LIGA MX All-Star team on Aug. 25 at 8 p.m. CT from Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles.

The 12th player honored will be the one with the next-highest amount of votes overall. To qualify for the ballot, players must have appeared in at least 50 percent of matches this season at the time the ballot was created on July 10. Players who did not qualify for the ballot are still eligible for selection by MLS All-Star and Los Angeles FC Head Coach Bob Bradley or Commissioner Don Garber.

Fan Voting begins today through Thursday, July 22 at 1:59 a.m. CT so make sure to vote for your Nashville SC players via the MLS app and at

Jhonder CádizForward/Winger
Aníbal GodoyDefensive Midfielder
Luke HaakensonAttacking Midfielder
Alistair JohnstonRight Back
Randall LealAttacking Midfielder
Daniel LovitzLeft Back
Dax McCartyDefensive Midfielder
Hany MukhtarAttacking Midfielder
Alex MuylForward/Winger
Dave RomneyCenter Back
C.J. SapongForward/Winger
Joe WillisGoalkeeper
Walker ZimmermanCenter Back

Randall Leal’s classification as an attacking midfielder is a bit unfortunate. He’s spent most of his time on the wing and the American Soccer Analysis’s Goals Added metric list his as the third-best winger in the league this season. Meanwhile, Dan Lovitz is ASA‘s highest-ranked leftback, with Dallas’s Ryan Hollingshead playing primarily in a more advanced role this season.

Shop MLS Jerseys at

12 players will be selected through the fan voting process. Fans can vote once per day through July 22. 12 will be selected by coach Bob Bradley, while MLS Commissioner Don Garber will select an additional pair.

Author: Ben Wrightis the Director of Soccer Content and a Senior MLS Contributor for Broadway Sports covering Nashville SC and the US National Team. Previously Ben was the editor and a founder of Speedway Soccer, where he has covered Nashville SC and their time in USL before journeying to Major League Soccer since 2018. Raised in Louisville, KY Ben grew up playing before a knee injury ended his competitive career. When he is not talking soccer he is probably producing music, drinking coffee or hanging out with his wife and kids. Mastodon

Leave a Reply