Nashville SC preseason friendly cancelled

Nashville SC’s preseason friendly against New York Red Bulls, scheduled for Wednesday afternoon, was cancelled after a match official tested positive. From the club’s press release:

 Nashville Soccer Club in partnership with the Professional Referee Organization and the New York Red Bulls announced today that their preseason match scheduled to take place at 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT at IMG Academy has been cancelled.  The match was cancelled out of an abundance of caution due to a match official returning a positive COVID-19 test.

As a result of today’s announcement, the media availability with Head Coach Gary Smith has also been cancelled. Nashville SC will resume preseason action on Saturday, March 27 against New York City FC at Al Lang Stadium with kickoff scheduled for 1 p.m. ET / noon CT.

At the conclusion of Saturday’s contest, Head Coach Gary Smith and select players will address members of the media via Zoom.

Author: Ben Wrightis the Director of Soccer Content and a Senior MLS Contributor for Broadway Sports covering Nashville SC and the US National Team. Previously Ben was the editor and a founder of Speedway Soccer, where he has covered Nashville SC and their time in USL before journeying to Major League Soccer since 2018. Raised in Louisville, KY Ben grew up playing before a knee injury ended his competitive career. When he is not talking soccer he is probably producing music, drinking coffee or hanging out with his wife and kids.

Leave a Reply