Nashville SC releases protected list for 2020 Expansion Draft

On Monday morning, Nashville SC released their list protected players for the 2021 MLS Expansion Draft. Newcomers Austin FC will be able to select up to five players from existing rosters tomorrow, with clubs allowed to protect 12 players, making them ineligible for selection.

Nashville SC protected the following 12 players:

  • Tah Brian Anunga (midfielder)
  • Jhonder Cádiz (forward)
  • Aníbal Godoy (midfielder)
  • Alistair Johnston (defender)
  • Randall Leal (midfielder)
  • Dan Lovitz (defender)
  • Dax McCarty (midfielder)
  • Hany Mukhtar (midfielder)
  • Daniel Ríos (forward)
  • Dave Romney (defender)
  • Joe Willis (goalkeeper)
  • Walker Zimmerman (defender)

In addition to their 12 player protected list, Nashville have an additional four players who cannot be selected. Alex Muyl, Derrick Jones and Handwalla Bwana are all homegrown players, and Jack Maher is signed to a generation adidas contract. This provides the four players automatic protection.

The following players are available for Austin FC to select tomorrow:

  • David Accam (midfielder)
  • Jalil Anibaba (defender)
  • Dom Badji (forward)
  • Brayan Beckeles (forward)
  • CJ Cochran (goalkeeper)
  • Abu Danladi (forward)
  • Tanner Dieterich (midfielder)
  • Luke Haakenson (midfielder)
  • Matt LaGrassa (midfielder)
  • Cameron Lancaster (forward)
  • Eric Miller (defender)
  • Miguel Nazarit (defender)
  • Elliot Panicco (goalkeeper)
  • Brady Scott (goalkeeper)
  • Ken Tribbett (defender)
  • Taylor Washington (defender)
  • Alan Winn (midfielder)

Austin can select up to five players in tomorrow’s draft. Teams are unable to have multiple players selected. If a club has a player selected, they’ll receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money (GAM), as well as protection in the 2021 Expansion Draft, when Charlotte FC will select.

The draft will take place tomorrow, December 15, at 5 PM central. The draft will be broadcast on Twitter and

Leave a Reply