Squad numbers assigned for new Nashville SC signings

Nashville SC’s preseason is underway. The team arrived in Florida on Monday afternoon, escaping Nashville’s winter storm for a much warmer Florida climate.

With the start of preseason comes new squad numbers. Nashville have added four players in the winter window, several of whom will play key roles and replace core players from last year’s squad.

Shop MLS Jerseys at MLSStore.com

Winger Tyler Boyd has taken the no. 11 shirt previously worn by Ethan Zubak. Boyd, 29, was acquired from the LA Galaxy, where he had seven goals and four assists in his first season in MLS last year. Boyd also wore no. 11 with Beşiktaş J.K. in the Turkish Süper Lig.

Past Nashville players to wear the no. 11 shirt include Zubak (2022-23), Rodrigo Piñeiro (2021), and David Accam (2020), as well as Kharlton Belmar (2019) and Ismaila Jome (2018) in the USL Championship.

Midfielder Dru Yearwood will wear no. 16 for the Coyotes. Yearwood has worn no. 16 for the majority of his career, starting with Southend United for his professional debut and taking the shirt with his move to New York Red Bulls. His only change was with Brentford, taking the no. 4 shirt for his two appearances.

Nashville’s history with the number is limited; no player wearing no. 16 has appeared in a league match, either in MLS or USL Championship. Laurence Wyke became the only player to make a competitive appearance wearing no. 16 last season in the US Open Cup. Past wearers include Wyke (2023), Tom Judge (2021), Ken Tribbett (2020), and Martim Galvão (2018).

Winger McKinze Gaines has taken the no. 17 shirt he wore with Charlotte FC last season. Gaines previously wore no. 27 with Austin FC.

C.J. Sapong (2021-23) is the most recent Boy In Gold to wear the number, and remains the second-highest scorer for Nashville in the MLS era with 18 goals. Others include Cameron Lancaster (2020) and Michael Reed (2018-19).

Forward Forster Ajago has taken the no. 21 shirt after being signed to an MLS contract following the 2024 SuperDraft. The Ghanaian striker’s first professional contract sees him join a Nashville attack badly in need of a spark. He wore no. 21 as a Duke Blue Devil, as well as no. 11 (Dayton) and no. 19 (Delaware).

Past Boys In Gold to wear no. 21 include Ahmed Longmire (2022-23), Tor Saunders (2021), Derrick Jones (2020), Darnell King (2019) and C.J. Cochran (2018).

Nashville SC current roster

1 – Joe Willis (GK)
2 – Dan Lovitz (DF)
3 – Lukas MacNaughton (DF)
4 – Nick DePuy* (DF)
5 – Jack Maher (DF)
8 – Randall Leal (MF)
9 – Sam Surridge (FW)
10 – Hany Mukhtar (FW)
11 – Tyler Boyd (MF)
12 – Teal Bunbury (FW)
13 – Joey Skinner (DF-MF)
14 – Jacob Shaffelburg (MF)
16 – Dru Yearwood (MF)
17 – McKinze Gaines (MF)
18 – Shaq Moore (DF)
19 – Alex Muyl (MF)
20 – Aníbal Godoy (MF)
21 – Forster Ajago (FW)
22 – Josh Bauer (DF)
23 – Taylor Washington (DF)
25 – Walker Zimmerman (DF)
27 – Brian Anunga (MF)
30 – Elliot Panicco (GK)
54 – Sean Davis (MF)
67 – Ben Martino (GK)
77 – Adem Sipić (FW)

Author: Broadway Sports The administrator of Broadway Sports Media, and the ultimate authority on Broadway.

Leave a Reply